George Poste, D.V.M, Ph.D.

Co-Director, Complex Adaptive Systems
Regents’ Professor and Del E. Webb Professor Health Innovation
Arizona State University

Dr. Poste is a Regent’s Professor and Del E. Webb Chair of Health Innovation at Arizona State University.  He founded and built The Biodesign Institute at ASU and served as its Director from 2003 to 2009. In 2009 he launched the Complex Adaptive Systems (CAS) at ASU which integrates research across disciplines to study the altered regulation of molecular networks in human diseases to provide a contemporary basis for the development of targeted disease interventions, inclusive of remote monitoring of health status using miniaturized body sensors and mobile devices.  He is a Fellow of the U.K. Royal Society, the Royal College of Pathologists and the U.K. Academy of Medicine, a Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, a member of the Council for Foreign Relations and the U. S. Institute of Medicine Board on Global Health. He has served as a member of the Defense Science Board of the U.S. Department of Defense and currently serves on advisory committees for several U.S. government agencies in defense, intelligence, national security and healthcare.  He has published extensively on pharmaceutical technologies, cancer and infectious diseases.  He was honored in 1999 by Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II as a Commander of the British Empire for his contributions to international healthcare and security. He serves on the Board of Directors of Monsanto, Exelixis, Caris Life Sciences, and the Scientific Advisory Boards of Burrill and Company and Synthetic Genomics. From 1992 to 1999, he was Chief Science and Technology Officer and President, R&D, of SmithKline Beecham (SB) where he was associated with the registration of 31 drug, vaccine and diagnostic products.  He has received a number of awards including Scientist of the Year by R&D Magazine, the Einstein Award from the Global Business Leadership Council, 2006; and the Scrip Lifetime Achievement Award, 2009.